Skip to Content

Guidelines for Extended Studies Scheme

(Effective from AY22/23)

1. Introduction

Extended Studies Scheme (ESS) is a new form of education provision of XJTLU whereby students are provided with the opportunity to study credit-bearing modules that are not part of their enrolled programme of study, and do not count toward the degree requirements of their enrolled programme of study. Through ESS, students are able to pursue academic interests in wider disciplinary areas to learn new knowledge and skills which would assist them in developing academic potential as well as career opportunities. To maximize the chances for students to access ESS, hybrid teaching may be adopted with a particular consideration for delivery of ESS modules to such effect that students can access the classes online, synchronously or asynchronously, without the restriction of time or location.

2. Scope of ESS Modules

2.1 The scope of ESS module offerings is not restricted by any pre-defined course structure and may extend to any credit-bearing module that is on offer in all taught degree programmes. Special arrangements may be made to cater for varied needs for module offerings, which may diverge from the normal ESS settings. For example, some ESS module packages may be offered for special groups of programmes and required on top of related degree curriculum. And the University may offer specific modules to identified groups of students as per the requirements from education authorities.

2.2 All undergraduate and postgraduate taught modules may be on offer for ESS, except the following types of modules: all Level 0 modules (excluding MLC modules), Level 1 EAPs, FYPs, research project/dissertation modules, studio and laboratory-based modules (excluding computer lab modules). Exemptions of modules other than the aforementioned types from the ESS scope may be considered by Associate VP for Education and Director for CAA from both academic and operational perspectives on a case by case basis.

2.3 Academic units are encouraged to develop new modules solely for ESS, in which case, the University’s process for module approval shall be followed, and all operational aspects concerning teaching and learning arrangements will follow the same process for normal credit-bearing modules.

3. Student Eligibility

3.1 Students must meet any pre-requisite requirements for the selected ESS modules.

3.2 An undergraduate student can only start their enrolment of ESS modules from the first semester of Stage 2, and is eligible to enroll in for up to 5 credits of ESS modules for each semester during their study at XJTLU.

3.3 A postgraduate student may enroll in for up to 20 credits of ESS modules during their registration period, with their study load evenly distributed across all semesters of study where possible.

3.4 Students on 2+2 study routes have a lesser opportunity for doing ESS due to their articulation to University of Liverpool for the last two stages of study.

4. Module Levels and Availability

4.1 ESS modules at Levels 1 and 2 are normally available to all undergraduate and postgraduate students, while ESS modules at Level 3 are only available to undergraduate students at nominal Stage 3, Stage 4, and postgraduate students. ESS modules at Level 4 are only available to undergraduate students at nominal Stage 4 and postgraduate students.

4.2 Students are not allowed to select the same modules as they will take/have taken for their degree programmes.

5. ESS Timetabling and Student Obligations

5.1 It is recommended that between 10% and 50% of extra places be set as quota for ESS on top of the class size planned for normal degree-seeking students.

5.2 The planning of class sizes together with timetabling for ESS will follow the same schedule for University timetabling, which usually starts early in the semester before the teaching semester.

5.3 Students are given the opportunity to change/drop the selection of ESS modules within the first two teaching weeks before confirming their ESS module enrolment.

5.4 Students should be made aware that their choice of ESS modules cannot be guaranteed due to resources constraints.

5.5 Choosing ESS modules that have time clashes with the modules of their enrolled stage is not normally recommended, and will not be accepted as reasons for lodging mitigating circumstances cases or assessment appeals for the degree programme modules.

6. Assessment, Moderation and Marking

6.1 All modules taken as part of ESS are subject to the same assessment regimes at module level in alignment with University assessment related regulations. University progression related regulations such as Compensatory Pass rules or Mitigating Circumstances Policy, are not applicable for ESS.

6.2 The pass mark for ESS modules at Level 1 to Level 3 is 40%, and 50% for modules at Level 4.

6.3 ESS modules originating from degree programmes are subject to the normal processes for both assessment moderation and marking moderation.

6.4 Standalone ESS modules only follow the internal moderation process without the involvement of external moderators.

6.5 All ESS modules shall follow the same University Marking descriptors and any School/Academy level marking descriptors where applicable.

7. Retake and Re-assessment

7.1 Students may retake failed ESS modules but will only be able to do so if they have the eligibility to take ESS modules and succeed in selecting the same module during the next academic session.

7.2 ESS modules except those at Level 3 normally offer only one re-assessment opportunity to students which normally follows the University annual resit schedule.

7.3 Level 3 ESS modules do not offer re-assessment opportunity to students.

7.4 Re-assessment opportunity are not available for students who graduate before re-assessment takes place.

7.5 Students are not allowed to take ESS modules nor retake their failed ESS modules after graduation.

8. Record and Certificate

8.1 All modules successfully completed as part of ESS will appear on a student’s XJTLU transcript.

8.2 Only the actual marks achieved will be recorded for ESS modules taken at a second or subsequent attempt.

8.3 Students who succeed in passing a minimum of 20 credits of modules from miscellaneous subject areas are entitled for the award of an unnamed XJTLU Certificate, while obtaining 20 or more credits of ESS modules falling within the same subject area will entitle students to receive a named certificate with the name of the subject displayed, which must be different from the subject(s) that constitutes the major part of their enrolled programme of study.

(Last review date: 20-Apr-2022)


  • Attached Files
  • Guidelines for Extended Studies Scheme.pdf (134 KB) 1111
  • Copyright © 2006 - 2022 Xi’an Jiaotong-Liverpool University      苏ICP备07016150号-1      京公网安备 11010102002019号